Participate in Mass from home.Has the Mount Mary’s Church approved this poster?

 

101_0820
Last weekend(5-7 July 2013) I was at the Milan/ SV Road junction at Santa Cruz West, and chanced to see the attached poster.
I believe the area falls under the parish of St Francis Xavier, Parle.
I did attempt to speak to a few practicing catholics,from the area, and outside and asked them if they were aware who put up this poster, they did not know, and only mentioned that after reading this poster they believe its now its possible to hear mass on TV from the comfort of one’s home.
I was shocked and alarmed. Of course these are simple people, and I tried to make them understand this was not true, as the church does not approve of the same and they need to clarify the same with the priest of their respective parishes.
Since the poster mentions that one can contact INCABLE Channel no 976 for this site, I contacted mob nbr 9967864874 to find out. I was greeted by a male who initially did not wish to give details, yet after me explaining he said that he has the approval, and blessing of a priest and the contact person was a lady by the name of Ms Daisy who could be contacted on mob nbr 9820016504 who had got approval from the catholic church.
Many attempts to get in touch with this lady was unsuccessful until last evening when I was able to speak with her.
She very clearly told me that she had the approval, and blessings of Monsignor Nereus Rodrigues to which I was rather surprised.I did mention to her that I would take up this issue and she said it was OK as the approval and consent was given to her. Frankly I still believe she is not telling the truth.
I have checked the website of The Archdiocese of Bombay, and that of Mount Marys Bandra, and I dont find any mention of viewing mass on TV.
In fact I have done my own survey with laity, and selected clergy from the day I saw the poster,  and the feedback is a “LOUD NO’ that viewing mass on TV does not fulfil our catholic obligation, as we participate in Holy mass not view the same.There have also been feedback saying that it should be valid in case of the homebound and sick, yet that is a different issue, and needs to be ratified by the catholic Church and by the vatican.
As mentioned earlier, simple people are not able to understand fully that participation of Holy mass is a must.
I would in the best interest of our catholic religion, if you or your office could speak to Monsignor Nereus Rodrigues or his office, and ensure this lady Ms Daisy is spoken to, and that the poster is taken down immediately and  without delay.
I have sent this email to you in the interest of the catholic community of Mumbai.
I would also place this on record with the CCBI, CBCI,Federation of  Asian Bishops, Apostolic Nuncio , and The Holy Father( By Fax).
Thank you once again, and please do keep me posted of  action taken. I will follow up the same tomorrow evening after I visit the site.
Gordon Jacobs
9819662963
About The Voice Of Bombay's Catholic Laity

Bombay Laity Ezekiel’s Chapter 3 Task as Watchman 17 “Son of man, I have made you a watchman for the people of Israel; so hear the word I speak and give them warning from me. 18 When I say to a wicked person, ‘You will surely die,’ and you do not warn them or speak out to dissuade them from their evil ways in order to save their life, that wicked person will die for[b] their sin, and I will hold you accountable for their blood. 19 But if you do warn the wicked person and they do not turn from their wickedness or from their evil ways, they will die for their sin; but you will have saved yourself.
This entry was posted in Church News in Mumbai/Thane/Navi Mumbai. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Participate in Mass from home.Has the Mount Mary’s Church approved this poster?

  1. Hey Gordon, point 1- since when are you the official spokesman of the Catholic community ???
    Point 2- Think awhile of all those who have a great devotion to Our Lady of The Mount, and would be so happy to join in praying the Holy Mass from Her shrine.
    Point 3- Be happy for all the home bound who cannot go to Church at least they can pray the Holy Mass from their homes
    Regards Fergus

    • Hey Fergus, I do not claim to be the official spokesperson of the Catholic Community. I have seen somthing going not right and I believe I need to highlight and try to correct the same. Viewing Holy Mass on TV does not fulfil our Obligation of participating in Mass, and if the laity are of a different opinion it need to be corrected. Of course viewing Holy mass on TV is not wrong, if this is now so permitted, then there must be a official communication from the AB house. Please dont get me wrong Fergus.

Leave a Reply

